Back to the Land of the Living!

It has been a rough year. Last year my best friend in the world died. I was her caretaker for the last few months. Watching her give up on life and let go was so painful and yet, so necessary for her. She made it to her 80th birthday; a mile stone she really wanted to achieve. Then in mid-summer, Jane died the day after my birthday, a time we had always celebrated together. I was devastated by the loss of that deep friendship that has sustained me through so much of the last 15 years. It was one of the only truly deep and spiritual soul friendships I have ever had.

Then my partner was diagnosed with prostate cancer at Thanksgiving. We went into fight mode and spent the first 4 months of this year actively engaged in warfare. Daily trips to and from Baltimore from Northern Virginia for Radiation treatments; a strict diet regime; rest whenever possible. It was exhausting for me and I was only driving and caretaking. I can hardly imagine what it was like for Mike. But the good news is his prognosis is great and he is doing very well now.

I have been struggling for a few years with my own body. I have several degenerative bone issues. (No one can have just ONE can they???) in the past 5 years, I have had both my hips fully replaced. the miracle of science allows me to walk now. But the expense of necessary major surgeries when you do not have insurance is overwhelming. I have now been diagnosed with Lumbar stenosis and cervical stenosis. These diseases apparently are caused by bone spurs growing inside my spinal column and putting pressure against my spine, making it painful for me to walk, or bend, or lift anything, or stand for long periods of time right now.  I as well have a strange disease called D.I. S.H. which causes all my ligaments and my tendons that connect to the spine to calcify and become bone… which is painful and is reducing my flexibility. Major surgery for the Lumbar stenosis is prescribed.. but at a starting fee of $115.502 for the surgeon alone, that is not an option. I can control the pain with strong doses of steroids and some pain medication, which is allowing me to slowly get my life back.

The depression from all of this has had me in meltdown for most of the year. I can hardly believe it is September already. All of that is to say I am sorry I have neglected to write and to post here. Except for the rag quilt I started in January and finally finished in April, and a couple of American Heroes Quilts I quilted and finished for that charity, I have done nothing in the way of sewing or promoting my business until this week.

The good news is that finally I am waking up and becoming real again. I have spent time working with a coach and I have again focused on building my business for myself and on creating art again.

This week I will be sharing with you the process I am following to create a series wall piece that is based on the wild flowers of Virginia. I am in the process of aligning things to relocate to my home town of Bedford, VA. There I will have a gallery and a studio space for my own work and to finish quilts for others.

More on that to come.

Create Beauty and fill the World with LOVE!

 

Leave a Reply

