Making it special

Sometimes things come at you and you know you HAVE to have it but you have no idea what you are going to do with it.

Dr. Seuss material by Robert Kaufmann was one of those things for me. I grew up with Dr. Seuss books and cartoons, and the images have always stuck in my mind. When I found some discounted pre-cut fabric patches, I knew I had to have them. But I had no idea what to do with them.  I am not by nature someone who does traditional block quilts for myself. Only for others.

BUT I had a new grandchild on the way, and so I decided to just roll with it!

suess-close-up

Since so much of the pre-cut square fabric was a white background I decided to make rows based on color choice – a primary white row, a mixed row, a white row etc. To create the center of the quilt.

suesss-quilt

To get the quilt to Twin bed size with fabric to hang I added a border of the same red polka-dot fabric that I used for backing. The binding was created from  Jellyroll fabric from the Seuss Collection.

suess-cat-in-the-hat-stitching-twin

I decided to machine quilt the quilt with a Cat-in-the-Hat type pattern to continue the theme.

All in all, it was a fun project that will live in my family for years to come. I can easily recreate this piece or something similar for anyone who would like to have it for a special child.

Leave a Reply

