Small things, big gifts!

I am a giver..  it is my nature to want to connect to people by making things for them that they can use and by giving gifts. The artist in me wants to create things of beauty, the practical side wants to make things that are usable and that I can earn money with.

Of course, this adventure began with a baby quilt for my daughter and escalated from there.

img_0641

 

This was my very first quilt. I had scraps of fabric from a freebie table at the first quilting group meeting I went to. I had no idea what to do with them.  I found a “block of the month” class on craftsy for free and I chose one of the patterns randomly and created this quilt. I confess. I am not good at following patterns. The artist in me would rather come up with an idea and create it as a one of a kind thing…. But, my daughter loved this quilt, and our new grandson does too.

 

 

img_0780

 

This little heart baby quilt I made while playing with the idea of a pieced heart. I had a couple of precut packs of 5″ squares in pastel colors so I made a pink and a blue quilt. the hearts are pieced with the white backing material and sashing added all around. it was a really quick little project and the quilt was donated to my church where it went to a newly baptized infant.img_0940 This lovely fun floral throw was created as a charity quilt. The fleece on the back was especially warm made it feel so cuddly.The quilting was an all-over a daisy chain pattern I created.

 

img_0962

Theses bears are made from a prescreened panel that was then cut apart and borders added.I quilted them by outlining the bears and adding a little stipple around them to make them pop like a trapunto. The borders I did a simple echo of the square to give it stability.

 

 

 

 

 

img_0809
This lap robe was made of random 10″ squares combined with a muslin border. The border/sashing quilting was my favorite paisley style quilting for an old-fashioned texture feel to the cotton. The individual blocks are each quilted differently to pick up the images of the fabrics. 

 

Create Beauty and fill the world with LOVE!

Wynn

 

Leave a Reply

