Awakening

IMG_1001.jpg

 

AWAKENING – 2016

This is one of those pieces that seemed to just create itself. It hatched ( no pun intended) out of my unconsciousness when I realized I had promised to provide a piece for the Fairfax Quilters Unlimited annual quilt auction in November, and promptly forgot it until the end October.

I had had an image in my mind for a few months of a lone crane facing the sunrise. And it evolved from that. From sketch to finished product was 2 weeks… a record for me. I feel so connected to this piece for some reason.

 

IMG_0996.jpg

The fabrics are for the most part batik, but there is 100% silk satin on the white of the wings, as well as a wonderful interfacing fabric I used for the crane’s legs…

 

IMG_0999.jpg

 

I machine quilted the red border fabric with a free-arm quilted motif of cranes feeding.

I love this creative process so much!

Leave a Reply

