Here’s what started it all…

IMG_0569

I was working as a landscape painter, but I really wanted to create works of art that one could touch and feel and explore. I accidentally discovered Silk Painting. Using imported silk paints I began to hand-paint landscapes on large silk panels. That grew into wanted to hang them and so I began to embellish them with stitching and embroidery.

IMG_0567

Here you can see the sewing machine stitching to simulate grasses in the wheat field.

IMG_0568

Here I used contour to embellish the shapes of the mountains.

IMG_0566

and I began to use free form Machine quilting in order to stipple and to give shape to large areas such as clouds in the skies.

 

Then it began to grow…. I began to explore pieces quilts and creating landscapes from fabric that is appliqued.  And that grew into my desire for a long arm machine that allows me to continue to explore stitching as a form of painting.

Leave a Reply

